Am I Doing This Wrong? Everyone Does Disney Different

While scrolling through my Facebook feed in the middle of the night, I saw a family’s Disney trip perfectly outlined on a giant white board. My husband, who works at the Disney Reservation Center, told me about a woman with a four page spreadsheet.
image

I put my license and debit card in my pocket, slap on my Magic Band and some Ears and I’m good to go! Sometimes I even make FP+ or ADR’s the night before but more often than not, it’s the day of, while I’m walking in the parks.
I wing it. I understand that I can do this because if I don’t do something today, there’s always tomorrow or next week or whenever. Disney World isn’t going anywhere and neither am I.
image

Flashback 20 years ago and I was strategically outlining my plan of attack! This was before technology became our constant companion. Dining plans were not even an option (DDP came to be around 2005).Free dining? Nope. I had a plan of attack and fingers crossed. I was the Mom pushing a double stroller, kid on my hip, another one orbiting sround, running to Dumbo. I’m tired just thinking about it! How did we even manage it all!?
image

The closest I’ll come to that now is when we have guests down from New England. I’ll make sure to get FP+ for the rides with historically long lines. Other than that, I’ll make suggestions but step back and let them vacation the way they want.
So I guess there’s no right or wrong way to enjoy Disney – just make sure you take the time to enjoy. My unsolicited advice is to take it slow, schedule in downtime and accept the fact that you can’t do it all. Tantrums will happen and your feet will hurt. It’s ok, you can always plan your next trip to finish your spreadsheet. Disney World will be here waiting and so will I!

Leave a Reply

